top of page

Chocolate Frozen Custard (Low-carb, Sugar-free, Dairy-free, High-protein, THM: S, Keto, Paleo)


I've been told many times that I have a gift for creating things in the kitchen. I knew that I enjoyed making delicious and nutritious foods for my family, but it never crossed my mind to share my talents and recipes with the world... until one day, I churned this magic. My family makes several trips each summer to a local frozen custard shop. We have all experienced the real deal when it comes to frozen custard. I'd even say that we are custard snobs, and we can easily distinguish a good one. The frozen custard I created holds to our high standards because it is so thick, so rich, so decadent, and holds the perfect chocolate flavor that is hard to achieve without real sugar. It took a few tries to create the perfect thickness and texture of a dairy-base custard without the dairy, but after just a few trials and only half-successes, I did it!

This recipe is a blessing and a curse; A blessing because it's dairy-free, high-protein, sugar-free and DELICIOUS (which means we can, and do, eat it almost every single day without giving ourselves diabetes)!! A curse because I am demanded to make more every time my last batch is gone. I will say that the blessing far outweighs the curse!

Just 15 minutes after pouring my cooled custard base into my ice cream maker the first time I made this, I walked into the kitchen to find my younger brother and sister spooning the frozen custard straight from the ice cream maker into their mouths! Needless to say, we do eat this ice cream freshly churned, but my very favorite way to eat it is after it has sat in the freezer for about one hour. Either way, it is scoopable.

This recipe does make two batches in a 6 cup ice cream maker. It's easiest to make the recipe with the whole can of coconut milk instead of just using half for one batch. You can halve the recipe if you desire to only make one batch of custard. If you decide to follow the recipe as is, you'll be happy that you have a second batch of custard base in the fridge ready to churn the next day!

I have linked some of the ingredients that I own down below. These are tried and true products and are the best value and quality that I have found.

 

Chocolate Frozen Custard

Makes 2 batches (about 6-8 servings in my house).

Ingredients:

3.5 cups almond milk

4 eggs

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 tsp salt

2 tsp gelatin

2 tsp vanilla (optional)

1/4-1/2 cup Pyure (see Note) (I use the full half cup because we like it sweet)

2 TBSP coconut oil

2 scoops (1/2 cup) whey protein or an equal amount of collagen

Note: Pyure is similar to THM super sweet. I prefer it because it is more affordable.

Directions:

  1. Blend the first 9 ingredients. I use the immersion blender and blend the mixture in the pan I plan to heat it in for a minimal clean up, but you could also use a blender.

  2. Heat the custard base in a pan until it thickens, stirring occasionally. When you begin to see the mixture bubbling, turn off the heat.

  3. Blend in the last 3 ingredients with the immersion blender or in the blender. Blend well.

  4. Let the custard cool to just below room temperature. This takes about 1 1/2 hours in the deep freeze and 2 hours in a regular freezer.

  5. After the custard has cooled, stir it well. Churn half in your ice cream maker according to the maker's instructions. Pour the other half into an airtight container and store it in the fridge until you are ready to use it. I would recommend using it within 3 days.

  6. Enjoy straight from the ice cream maker or let it sit in the freezer for an hour. Store the leftover frozen custard in the freezer and let it thaw for 30-45 minutes before eating it.

Pin this recipe:


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page